Oni Central Forum

A forum for the Oni community

You are not logged in.

#101 31/3/16 17:21

Iritscen
Moderator
From: NC, USA
Registered: 22/10/07

Re: AE support for PowerPC Macs

Of course, it can only be one of the TXMPs that is in that character's package folder, so even just converting all of those to PNG you might be able to say, "Okay, this is the body texture that I saw inverted in-game."


byproducts are fine, but where's the beef?

Offline

#102 31/3/16 21:56

Iritscen
Moderator
From: NC, USA
Registered: 22/10/07

Re: AE support for PowerPC Macs

Correction: EdT has pointed out to me that converting the TXMPs to PNG does not give you the proper results as far as the alpha channel goes, so actually you want to convert them to TGA for the purpose of swapping channels.


byproducts are fine, but where's the beef?

Offline

#103 31/3/16 23:39

3371-Alpha
Member
Registered: 1/3/16

Re: AE support for PowerPC Macs

Iritscen wrote:

Correction: EdT has pointed out to me that converting the TXMPs to PNG does not give you the proper results as far as the alpha channel goes, so actually you want to convert them to TGA for the purpose of swapping channels.

So that's why it didn't appear to be working. Thanks.


PowerMac G5 Dual 2.0GHz 2003 (Model: 7,2)
Mac OS X 10.5.8 (Leopard)
7GB RAM (OWC PC-3200U-30330 DDR SDRAM 400MHz)
ATi Radeon 9600 Pro 64MB (GPU overclocked to 438.75MHz, VRAM to 330.75MHz)

Offline

#104 1/4/16 13:04

EdT
Moderator
From: Los Angeles, CA
Registered: 13/1/07
Website

Re: AE support for PowerPC Macs

Another option would be to use a hex editor and open the texture file directly like this:
hexview.png

When you see 2 references to TXMP in the hex editor (TXMPIteration001%2Fk4_head.TXMPenvksface)  This means the texture file has an alpha channel. The second TXMP is the EnvMap name and used in the alpha channel.  The advantage of this method is that you get the name of the EnvMap which is needed to make the texture:

mono OniSplit.exe -create:txmp /path/to/destination/  -genmipmaps -format:bgra32 -envmap:TXMPenvksface path/to/file/TXMPIteration001%2FKS_face.tga

So not a Quicklook, but faster than converting the .oni files to an image and then opening it up in Gimp. smile

Offline

#105 1/4/16 15:32

3371-Alpha
Member
Registered: 1/3/16

Re: AE support for PowerPC Macs

Worked out pretty well. Now the TCTF troops no longer have pink suits. Thanks.


PowerMac G5 Dual 2.0GHz 2003 (Model: 7,2)
Mac OS X 10.5.8 (Leopard)
7GB RAM (OWC PC-3200U-30330 DDR SDRAM 400MHz)
ATi Radeon 9600 Pro 64MB (GPU overclocked to 438.75MHz, VRAM to 330.75MHz)

Offline

#106 1/4/16 15:38

Iritscen
Moderator
From: NC, USA
Registered: 22/10/07

Re: AE support for PowerPC Macs

Cool, glad to hear it worked for you.


byproducts are fine, but where's the beef?

Offline

#107 1/4/16 20:10

3371-Alpha
Member
Registered: 1/3/16

Re: AE support for PowerPC Macs

You know, I'm pretty sure that if you told one of the PPC communities (such as PowerPC Luddite) about our progress you'd be well commended for your great work. You just have to get in contact with the blogger who runs the site. Even I have to say I've never been given such great support before. You put in all this time & effort just to help an old PPC user. Thank you.

Last edited by 3371-Alpha (25/5/16 2:23)


PowerMac G5 Dual 2.0GHz 2003 (Model: 7,2)
Mac OS X 10.5.8 (Leopard)
7GB RAM (OWC PC-3200U-30330 DDR SDRAM 400MHz)
ATi Radeon 9600 Pro 64MB (GPU overclocked to 438.75MHz, VRAM to 330.75MHz)

Offline

#108 1/4/16 21:26

Iritscen
Moderator
From: NC, USA
Registered: 22/10/07

Re: AE support for PowerPC Macs

Sure, no problem.  This community is full of people who are used to working persistently on tough problems, so it's nothing unusual for us smile  We may not formally support PPC anymore, but the least we can do is provide some tips for PPC users that are willing to put some effort into getting it to work, like you.

P.S.: I'm going to break all these posts out into their own thread so that they are more discoverable for other PPC users.


byproducts are fine, but where's the beef?

Offline

#109 2/4/16 17:35

3371-Alpha
Member
Registered: 1/3/16

Re: AE support for PowerPC Macs

Hey Iritscen, there's this annoying little popup called "Instructions" that always opens up on startup. It tells me I can disable it by unchecking the corresponding option in the "Settings" menu, under the "Installer" menu. But I don't see either menus.

Last edited by 3371-Alpha (3/8/16 12:37)


PowerMac G5 Dual 2.0GHz 2003 (Model: 7,2)
Mac OS X 10.5.8 (Leopard)
7GB RAM (OWC PC-3200U-30330 DDR SDRAM 400MHz)
ATi Radeon 9600 Pro 64MB (GPU overclocked to 438.75MHz, VRAM to 330.75MHz)

Offline

#110 3/8/16 20:00

3371-Alpha
Member
Registered: 1/3/16

Re: AE support for PowerPC Macs

Iritscen?


PowerMac G5 Dual 2.0GHz 2003 (Model: 7,2)
Mac OS X 10.5.8 (Leopard)
7GB RAM (OWC PC-3200U-30330 DDR SDRAM 400MHz)
ATi Radeon 9600 Pro 64MB (GPU overclocked to 438.75MHz, VRAM to 330.75MHz)

Offline

#111 3/8/16 21:11

Iritscen
Moderator
From: NC, USA
Registered: 22/10/07

Re: AE support for PowerPC Macs

Oh, strange.  I'll have to test that in the morning on my G5 (btw, you shouldn't edit an old post, no one will notice that it changed ;-).


byproducts are fine, but where's the beef?

Offline

#112 4/8/16 8:04

Iritscen
Moderator
From: NC, USA
Registered: 22/10/07

Re: AE support for PowerPC Macs

Interesting.  It seems that the application menu is not present when the AEI runs in X11.  I don't think that can be fixed unless the AEI is changed to load the menu differently when it detects the Darwin platform, but there's a manual fix, which is to edit AE/AEInstaller/AEI-Settings.xml yourself.  Add this text to it between the <prefs> tags, alongside the other <entry>s:

<entry><string>showTips</string><boolean>false</boolean></entry>

byproducts are fine, but where's the beef?

Offline

#113 4/8/16 13:48

3371-Alpha
Member
Registered: 1/3/16

Re: AE support for PowerPC Macs

Oh, Thanks! Also sorry about the old post. Some forum sites don't like it when you post new comments when you where the last one to comment in the thread.


PowerMac G5 Dual 2.0GHz 2003 (Model: 7,2)
Mac OS X 10.5.8 (Leopard)
7GB RAM (OWC PC-3200U-30330 DDR SDRAM 400MHz)
ATi Radeon 9600 Pro 64MB (GPU overclocked to 438.75MHz, VRAM to 330.75MHz)

Offline

#114 4/8/16 14:57

Iritscen
Moderator
From: NC, USA
Registered: 22/10/07

Re: AE support for PowerPC Macs

Ah, I see.  We don't care about double-posting here when it's been a long time between posts.


byproducts are fine, but where's the beef?

Offline

#115 4/8/16 21:49

3371-Alpha
Member
Registered: 1/3/16

Re: AE support for PowerPC Macs

Ok, understood. It's worth noting, there are also a few other bugs (web links not opening the browser, ect.) but the missing menus was the most pressing in my opinion. I'll tell you the other glitches later when you have the time.


PowerMac G5 Dual 2.0GHz 2003 (Model: 7,2)
Mac OS X 10.5.8 (Leopard)
7GB RAM (OWC PC-3200U-30330 DDR SDRAM 400MHz)
ATi Radeon 9600 Pro 64MB (GPU overclocked to 438.75MHz, VRAM to 330.75MHz)

Offline

#116 5/8/16 9:24

Iritscen
Moderator
From: NC, USA
Registered: 22/10/07

Re: AE support for PowerPC Macs

You can list here whatever issues you find, so Alloc will have the option of fixing them if he has the time.


byproducts are fine, but where's the beef?

Offline

#117 6/8/16 18:56

3371-Alpha
Member
Registered: 1/3/16

Re: AE support for PowerPC Macs

Alright then. First one is the inability to open *any* links within the Java runtime (i.e. the links some mods have in there description). I think this is mainly attributed to the fact that OpenJDK doesn't support Java WebStart. A good workaround for this issue maybe to have AEI copy the links to your clipboard so you may then manually input them in your browser. I've also had a strange glitch where the AEI window boarder will disappear after you resize it. It's very rare so I don't think the issue is very pressing.


PowerMac G5 Dual 2.0GHz 2003 (Model: 7,2)
Mac OS X 10.5.8 (Leopard)
7GB RAM (OWC PC-3200U-30330 DDR SDRAM 400MHz)
ATi Radeon 9600 Pro 64MB (GPU overclocked to 438.75MHz, VRAM to 330.75MHz)

Offline

#118 29/8/16 17:49

3371-Alpha
Member
Registered: 1/3/16

Re: AE support for PowerPC Macs

Any news on the requested fixes?


PowerMac G5 Dual 2.0GHz 2003 (Model: 7,2)
Mac OS X 10.5.8 (Leopard)
7GB RAM (OWC PC-3200U-30330 DDR SDRAM 400MHz)
ATi Radeon 9600 Pro 64MB (GPU overclocked to 438.75MHz, VRAM to 330.75MHz)

Offline

#119 29/8/16 18:12

Iritscen
Moderator
From: NC, USA
Registered: 22/10/07

Re: AE support for PowerPC Macs

Can you right-click text with a link to get an option to copy that link?  I'm not sure if Alloc wants to work on these bugs, because there's a plan for an AEI "refresh" which will take care of these problems incidentally.


byproducts are fine, but where's the beef?

Offline

#120 29/8/16 19:06

3371-Alpha
Member
Registered: 1/3/16

Re: AE support for PowerPC Macs

No, there's no right click option for opening/copying links into your browser. Also, what do you mean by a "refresh"?


PowerMac G5 Dual 2.0GHz 2003 (Model: 7,2)
Mac OS X 10.5.8 (Leopard)
7GB RAM (OWC PC-3200U-30330 DDR SDRAM 400MHz)
ATi Radeon 9600 Pro 64MB (GPU overclocked to 438.75MHz, VRAM to 330.75MHz)

Offline

#121 29/8/16 19:43

Iritscen
Moderator
From: NC, USA
Registered: 22/10/07

Re: AE support for PowerPC Macs

I'm kind of being mysterious on purpose about that, because it's a big project and I don't quite know when I'm going to get to it.  Probably within a few months.  It will clear up a number of issues, though, including the current complications with PPC support.


byproducts are fine, but where's the beef?

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB