Oni Central Forum

A forum for the Oni community

You are not logged in.

#1 13/7/14 11:57

zmeulcelmic
Member
Registered: 13/7/14

why can i see the skybox??

hi there!
im posting here since ive run out of ideas on how to fix this problem.
when i started playing this game i was rocking with my voodoo3 gc:D
now on new pcs (2 of them) i can see the skybox boundries a ugly cube
please help me
its ruining the feelig of a huge gameworld this game gave me way before any gta:)
any help will be greatlly apreciated

Offline

#2 13/7/14 12:26

paradox-01
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 14/1/07

Re: why can i see the skybox??

Do you use an AMD graphics card / processor?

Offline

#3 13/7/14 13:19

Samer
Member
From: Lebanon
Registered: 4/9/09
Website

Re: why can i see the skybox??

I have the same issue by the way and I use a NVIDIA GeForce GTX 760 even had it on my older graphics card also Nvidia.


Join our Oni Facebook Group
Check My YouTube Channel for my Oni Videos.
Check My Wiki page for all my stuff

Offline

#4 13/7/14 14:24

TOCS
Member
From: Denmark
Registered: 4/4/07

Re: why can i see the skybox??

This has been an issue ever since post-2005 to me. It's most likely driver/hardware related. It would be cool with a fix though.

P.S. I'm on a GTX 670.

Last edited by TOCS (13/7/14 14:26)

Offline

#5 13/7/14 14:58

paradox-01
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 14/1/07

Re: why can i see the skybox??

I think Neo had a plugin fixing it. Currently he seems afk...
Not sure if I still have the correct files, didn't took notes. hmm

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/139715/OCF/test.zip
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/139 … /test2.zip

(iirc, this was supposed to be placed alongside Oni.exe)

Last edited by paradox-01 (15/7/14 15:04)

Offline

#6 14/7/14 6:31

TOCS
Member
From: Denmark
Registered: 4/4/07

Re: why can i see the skybox??

A little explanation of what this is would be very helpful? tongue Also, Direct X? yikes

Offline

#7 15/7/14 15:26

paradox-01
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 14/1/07

Re: why can i see the skybox??

Okay forget my first post.
Here are Spartanic infos and screenies:
http://wiki.oni2.net/XML:ONSK#beta

(This will not with the daodan (AE's binkw32.dll), so there will be no dev mode.)

Currently this is for Windows Vista/7/8.
XP will need dx9 (not released yet).

The motoko plugin is part of Neo's ReOni project... no need to say it's not finished yet.
The idea is to not depend on the source code so that engine updates can be created (in the far future though).

While the plugins are for ReOni, they can also be used for the current Oni.exe. That possible because the vtuneapi.dll loads the plugin(s).

It just happened that the dx usage fixed the skybox problem.

Offline

#8 15/7/14 15:55

Samer
Member
From: Lebanon
Registered: 4/9/09
Website

Re: why can i see the skybox??

uhm so we have to sacrifice developer mode if we want the skybox to disappear ?
I can live with the skybox then tongue


Join our Oni Facebook Group
Check My YouTube Channel for my Oni Videos.
Check My Wiki page for all my stuff

Offline

#9 15/7/14 17:05

Iritscen
Moderator
From: NC, USA
Registered: 22/10/07

Re: why can i see the skybox??

Well, the Daodan DLL enables Dev Mode at run-time, but you could also do it by hex-editing the Oni app according to the wiki's instructions on the Developer Mode page.  But you'd be missing the other important features of the Daodan, like BGRA32 support and various fixes.  It would be nice if the Motoko plugin could be made compatible with the Daodan.


byproducts are fine, but where's the beef?

Offline

#10 15/7/14 17:08

TOCS
Member
From: Denmark
Registered: 4/4/07

Re: why can i see the skybox??

paradox-01 wrote:

Okay forget my first post.
Here are Spartanic infos and screenies:
http://wiki.oni2.net/XML:ONSK#beta

(This will not with the daodan (AE's binkw32.dll), so there will be no dev mode.)

Currently this is for Windows Vista/7/8.
XP will need dx9 (not released yet).

The motoko plugin is part of Neo's ReOni project... no need to say it's not finished yet.
The idea is to not depend on the source code so that engine updates can be created (in the far future though).

While the plugins are for ReOni, they can also be used for the current Oni.exe. That possible because the vtuneapi.dll loads the plugin(s).

It just happened that the dx usage fixed the skybox problem.

Thanks for the clarification!

Also, I noticed from using the other .exes you posted that it changes certain shaders in the game such as how the current environmental mapping works. This is really cool! I'd very much like to know more about what the possibilities behind this ReOni project is! big_smile

Offline

#11 24/7/14 12:05

zmeulcelmic
Member
Registered: 13/7/14

Re: why can i see the skybox??

First things first; THANK YOU  guys for the fast responses and ofcourse for the life saving download link:)
second sorry for beeng late with my reply.
And third sice you helped me out i think some feedback would be the least i could do right.
the first 2 dl links didnt do it for me they bring even more things up from the workings of the engine(some white position markers(i think) for the ai, hitboxes, and other artifacts.
the third link did the trick, yeah i cant play as my second favorite character of all time Mukade:P but its worth it for me. now i can enjoy the beautiful world of level disign done by real arhitects superb music and hypnotic city sounds without any break in immersion.
So, thanks again ,you guys rock!

Offline

#12 24/7/14 12:39

Iritscen
Moderator
From: NC, USA
Registered: 22/10/07

Re: why can i see the skybox??

Glad it's working for you.  Now, you might still be able to use this file with the AE, provided you disable the Daodan DLL in the AE\ folder (binkw32.dll).  However I'm not sure what the best way is to do this.  Removing the file might prompt the AE Installer to re-install it the next time you run the AEI.  But using this patch with the AE would allow you to still have your globalized shapeshifting where all character classes are available.  Alternately, you could use this with regular Oni, and as long as cheats are unlocked, you can still shapeshift to any character that appears in that level.


byproducts are fine, but where's the beef?

Offline

#13 24/7/14 14:45

tupforum
Member
Registered: 24/7/14

Re: why can i see the skybox??

Who wants to play multi ?? smile  smile  smile  smile  smile  smile  smile  smile  smile

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB