Oni Central Forum

A forum for the Oni community

You are not logged in.

#151 1/10/08 1:18

EdT
Moderator
From: Los Angeles, CA
Registered: 13/1/07
Website

Re: Learning to make models

I was looking at the screenshot of ModTools, near the top center there is the Views menu and below it are icons that looks like it will display some info in hierarchal order.  Perhaps showing how the objects are connected.  Click those icons and see what they show.

Have you tried a simple swap, perhaps, one leg (foot, calf, thigh) or even just the foot? 

As always, post the files, DAE and .oni so we can look at them.

When I first started working in 3D it was frustrating, I had to do a lot of searching to find out how to do things, there was a lots of trial and errors.  So don't give up, keep trying, you'll figure it out!  Then it will be fun to work with 3D characters.

Last edited by EdT (1/10/08 1:31)

Offline

#152 1/10/08 3:00

Gumby
Member
From: Seattle, WA, USA
Registered: 30/8/07

Re: Learning to make models

"How?"

I usually just drag and drop the DAE files into XSI...


Iritscen: roll
Iritscen: it's amazing this program even works
Gumby: i know
Iritscen: and that statement applies to my code, not just yours

Offline

#153 1/10/08 14:37

ONIrules
Member
Registered: 4/9/07

Re: Learning to make models

Hm............
Maybe I can work on this later. Right now I am trying to find a way to import cars an other automobile to Oni. Perhaps a new cool looking motorcycle for Konoko to ride on. ^_^

Update:

EdT and other experts:
When I import the DeLorean to the airport assault level why can't I see it?

Last edited by ONIrules (1/10/08 16:55)

Offline

#154 1/10/08 17:24

Gumby
Member
From: Seattle, WA, USA
Registered: 30/8/07

Re: Learning to make models

You can only see it in the beginning cutscene.


Iritscen: roll
Iritscen: it's amazing this program even works
Gumby: i know
Iritscen: and that statement applies to my code, not just yours

Offline

#155 2/10/08 16:12

ONIrules
Member
Registered: 4/9/07

Re: Learning to make models

I can't hack Oni for now since a hacker send me a virus. sad Will be back.............

Update:

Since I have one clean computer left maybe I can still mod Oni and plus it works perfectly with no crashes smile. Luckily, I backed up all my Oni Edition Files and other stuff smile (I don't want it to be destroyed) And ModTool is now install to my clean computer. Back to modding!! ^_^

Last edited by ONIrules (3/10/08 21:49)

Offline

#156 6/10/08 16:12

ONIrules
Member
Registered: 4/9/07

Re: Learning to make models

Looks like I can't replace cars that are parked outside the airport hangars, but why? Is that consider the whole level geometry?

PS: Is there also a polygon limit when importing cars?

Last edited by ONIrules (6/10/08 16:14)

Offline

#157 6/10/08 18:37

EdT
Moderator
From: Los Angeles, CA
Registered: 13/1/07
Website

Re: Learning to make models

Those cars are part of the level geometry, so you can ineract with them, however, the moving cars in the cutscene are M3GM so you can walk through them.  I'm sure the limit on polygons are the same as other 3D geometry such as weapons.

Offline

#158 6/10/08 18:49

ONIrules
Member
Registered: 4/9/07

Re: Learning to make models

I wish someday we can increase polygon limits like 2000 to like 9000.

Offline

#159 6/10/08 23:59

Gumby
Member
From: Seattle, WA, USA
Registered: 30/8/07

Re: Learning to make models

Why? There are very few things (none?) that actually need 9001 polygons.


Iritscen: roll
Iritscen: it's amazing this program even works
Gumby: i know
Iritscen: and that statement applies to my code, not just yours

Offline

#160 7/10/08 18:14

ONIrules
Member
Registered: 4/9/07

Re: Learning to make models

I meant importing weapons. Most of the weapons found in 3D sites are over 2000 polygons.

Last edited by ONIrules (7/10/08 20:28)

Offline

#161 7/10/08 23:04

Gumby
Member
From: Seattle, WA, USA
Registered: 30/8/07

Re: Learning to make models

Yeah, and they don't need to be. Its waste.


Iritscen: roll
Iritscen: it's amazing this program even works
Gumby: i know
Iritscen: and that statement applies to my code, not just yours

Offline

#162 8/10/08 14:53

ONIrules
Member
Registered: 4/9/07

Re: Learning to make models

Whateva........................

Offline

#163 11/10/08 10:39

ONIrules
Member
Registered: 4/9/07

Re: Learning to make models

Maybe I'm ready for making characters. Now the queston I have is how to break up a model to 19 body parts? It seems that some models are in one big model, no bones separated.

Last edited by ONIrules (11/10/08 12:03)

Offline

#164 11/10/08 16:13

Gumby
Member
From: Seattle, WA, USA
Registered: 30/8/07

Re: Learning to make models

You need to seperate the model into 19 parts, and then extrude the joints so when the model is animated there won't be gaps. After that, you have to set up the bones and stuff, but I can't help you there...


Iritscen: roll
Iritscen: it's amazing this program even works
Gumby: i know
Iritscen: and that statement applies to my code, not just yours

Offline

#165 13/10/08 18:32

EdT
Moderator
From: Los Angeles, CA
Registered: 13/1/07
Website

Re: Learning to make models

ONIrules, I would suggest you examine closely an existing character from Oni.  Look at the parent child relationship between the body parts, the location of the center point for each part and the rotation info for each. 

You might want to create a simple stickman figure and import that into Oni.  This way you can learn the concept of making characters.

Offline

#166 13/10/08 18:33

ONIrules
Member
Registered: 4/9/07

Re: Learning to make models

Thats what I'm thinking! smile

Offline

#167 13/10/08 21:23

Seventeen Seconds
Member
Registered: 30/9/07

Re: Learning to make models

Here is an example to make things clear for you.  The legs and arms are 3 pieces each.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v125/ … itled3.jpg

Offline

#168 13/10/08 21:36

EdT
Moderator
From: Los Angeles, CA
Registered: 13/1/07
Website

Re: Learning to make models

Seventeen Seconds: Can you help ONIrules with swapping body parts to make new characters in ModTools?
This is what he tried without success:
http://oni.bungie.org/community/forum/v … 9898#p9898

Thanks

Offline

#169 13/10/08 22:33

Seventeen Seconds
Member
Registered: 30/9/07

Re: Learning to make models

It's hard to say exactly what is going wrong, but if you don't freeze the transformations/rotations when the character is finally ready for export, that could cause problems.  The parent-child hierarchy is easiest to see in the schematic view and it would be worth posting a screenshot in order to clarify if that is indeed correct.  You can also merge XSI scene files directly and avoid so many import/exports.

ONIrules, try and import/export an unchanged Oni character from Onisplit into modtools, then back into the game just to verify that it is your modeling and not the data pipeline which is causing problems.  Use the process of elimination to isolate where the error is made.

Offline

#170 14/10/08 16:17

ONIrules
Member
Registered: 4/9/07

Re: Learning to make models

Will try!! Thanks for the info.

Offline

#171 29/1/09 19:29

ONIrules
Member
Registered: 4/9/07

Re: Learning to make models

After a few months of trials and errors, I finally did it!! Yay! ^_^
014320379.jpg   

Now things to before release:
Proper textures
Changing the height (which I kinda forgot how to do.. Someone please post a way to fix it)
Move parts closer together

I test the animations and they're working perfectly!

Last edited by ONIrules (29/1/09 19:30)

Offline

#172 29/1/09 19:38

Gumby
Member
From: Seattle, WA, USA
Registered: 30/8/07

Re: Learning to make models

Onirules...what exactly is it?


Iritscen: roll
Iritscen: it's amazing this program even works
Gumby: i know
Iritscen: and that statement applies to my code, not just yours

Offline

#173 29/1/09 19:39

ONIrules
Member
Registered: 4/9/07

Re: Learning to make models

Remember the TCTF Marine I was planning to do?

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB