Oni Central Forum

A forum for the Oni community

You are not logged in.

#1 02/20/08 04:02

Ghalion

My own little goal for a mod

Hey guys, I'm very new to this oni modding stuff (haven't made a single mod or a script, and I've never even seen the oni wiki page, or any other page like it prior to this week), but I've taken a fancy to making my own little oni mod. I'm going to list the features I want to do here (I might add more later). If any of you have any feedback or suggestions please feel free to tell me!

First off I like hearing myself type so I'll bore you all by describing my motivations for my mod.

I personally find that oni (yes even on hard) is a bit easy most of the time with a few exceptions. There are plenty of mods that crank up the difficulty in some way, and they are very good, but they aren't EXACTLY what I want, and the best person to do exactly what I want is me...even if I'm not the most qualified for the job.

Oni is such a cool game in my opinion because of the hand to hand combat. I think the guns in the game kinda destroy what makes oni unique. No that there is anything wrong with guns in games, it's just that if I want a shooter game I'm going to play ut. not oni, I play oni for hand to hand combat.

Soooo. removing all the guns (or most at least) form the game is ideal, or at least making them less significant/powerful.

The rest of my mod is to focus on rebalancing the hand to hand combat components of this game.

For example, why is konoko's punch, punch, kick combo stronger than her kick kick kick combo, even though the latter is slower, and harder to connect with? Why does that super-painful looking elite striker backbreaker move do less damage than that afformentioned punch punch kick combo?

ANYWAY.. on to my list of ideal changes:

nerf/remove all guns
Increase health of all enemies somewhat (to compensate the buffing of some of konoko's less useful moves mostly) via the ongs file