Oni Central Forum

A forum for the Oni community

You are not logged in.

#76 19/3/16 18:23

Iritscen
Moderator

Re: AE support for PowerPC Macs

I will say, my G5 still runs well.  I only replaced it because I wanted to get one of the new Intel laptops that Apple had released in 2006.  At the same time, you might be surprised if you get to compare something like running the AE Installer, or compiling a large amount of code, or encoding video on one of today's iMacs.  Although my G5 was the single-core 1.6GHz model, which doesn't hold up as well as your dual 2.0GHz.  Anyway, to each his own smile


byproducts are fine, but where's the beef?

Offline

#77 19/3/16 21:07

3371-Alpha
Member

Re: AE support for PowerPC Macs

I found what seems to be the final flaw. AEI downloaded the intel version of XmlTools. You wouldn't happen to have a PPC variant, would you?


PowerMac G5 Dual 2.0GHz 2003 (Model: 7,2)
Mac OS X 10.5.8 (Leopard)
7GB RAM (OWC PC-3200U-30330 DDR SDRAM 400MHz)
ATi Radeon 9600 Pro 64MB (GPU overclocked to 438.75MHz, VRAM to 330.75MHz)

Offline

#78 20/3/16 6:07

s10k
Member

Re: AE support for PowerPC Macs

I believe XmlTools was never ported to PPC.

You would need to compile it for that architecture.

I am not sure if Qt5 supports PPC, so probably you would even need to use Qt4 and hope that are no api changes so it would compile.

Code is available at svn:
http://svn.oni2.net/XmlTools2/trunk/

You will need also Qt installed (probably with QtCreator to open XmlTools.pro) and then compile it.

Btw just checked and for example QCommandLineParser Class for example is only available on Qt 5 and up.

Not sure if you can pass some parameter to gcc in intel mac os in order to compile to ppc. sad

Last edited by s10k (20/3/16 6:15)

Offline

#79 20/3/16 11:14

Iritscen
Moderator

Re: AE support for PowerPC Macs

It really threw me when you mentioned XmlTools being an Intel binary, because I installed the AE on my G5 and it seemingly ran fine.  However now I see that XML patching failed silently.  In this case, Oni will still be playable but you will not have the benefit of mods that use patching.  The only core mods that will fail to be applied are part of the Character Globalization fix and the Unlock All Moves mod.  But I am looking into building XmlTools for PPC.  It seems that GCC can easily do it, but first I have to install GCC (Macs only come with Clang now).


byproducts are fine, but where's the beef?

Offline

#80 20/3/16 14:14

Iritscen
Moderator

Re: AE support for PowerPC Macs

Okay, it turns out that it's not easy after all, because Qt itself no longer supports 32-bit Macs out of the box.  If you really want to have access to all mods, you'll have to build Qt on your G5 first, and then use that to build XmlTools for PPC.  There's an article here that looks useful: http://www.codeproject.com/Articles/717 … owerPC-Mac.

However you could also just try using the AE for a while without XML patching and see if it really hampers you.  There aren't that many mods that use patches.  Some new characters will not have their proper melee profiles when under AI control, and the Glass-Breaking Moves mod won't work, but I'm not sure anything else will be an issue (besides the core mod issues I mentioned before).


byproducts are fine, but where's the beef?

Offline

#81 20/3/16 14:22

3371-Alpha
Member

Re: AE support for PowerPC Macs

Try MacPorts. They have great utilities so long as it doesn't give you a DNS error. Also there's an xcode gcc plugin I remember reading about that allows you to use MacPort's gccs with xcode. I'd post you a direct link but the thread tells me I'm not permitted to.


PowerMac G5 Dual 2.0GHz 2003 (Model: 7,2)
Mac OS X 10.5.8 (Leopard)
7GB RAM (OWC PC-3200U-30330 DDR SDRAM 400MHz)
ATi Radeon 9600 Pro 64MB (GPU overclocked to 438.75MHz, VRAM to 330.75MHz)

Offline

#82 20/3/16 14:27

3371-Alpha
Member

Re: AE support for PowerPC Macs

Is there a way to get it working with QT 4.6.4 (last universal binary version)?


PowerMac G5 Dual 2.0GHz 2003 (Model: 7,2)
Mac OS X 10.5.8 (Leopard)
7GB RAM (OWC PC-3200U-30330 DDR SDRAM 400MHz)
ATi Radeon 9600 Pro 64MB (GPU overclocked to 438.75MHz, VRAM to 330.75MHz)

Offline

#83 20/3/16 17:33

s10k
Member

Re: AE support for PowerPC Macs

Is there a way to get it working with QT 4.6.4 (last universal binary version)?

Not without some serious changes to the code. For that it would be even preferable to rewrite part of it in C++11 + some js library so it would become much more portable.

Last edited by s10k (20/3/16 17:40)

Offline

#84 20/3/16 21:53

3371-Alpha
Member

Re: AE support for PowerPC Macs

s10k wrote:

For that it would be even preferable to rewrite part of it in C++11 + some js library

I think that's way beyond my skill level. I'll see if I can get QT5 built first.


PowerMac G5 Dual 2.0GHz 2003 (Model: 7,2)
Mac OS X 10.5.8 (Leopard)
7GB RAM (OWC PC-3200U-30330 DDR SDRAM 400MHz)
ATi Radeon 9600 Pro 64MB (GPU overclocked to 438.75MHz, VRAM to 330.75MHz)

Offline

#85 20/3/16 23:05

Iritscen
Moderator

Re: AE support for PowerPC Macs

I'm also trying to build QT5 on my end in a way that will allow it to build XmlTools for 32-bit PPC, but so far it's failing.


byproducts are fine, but where's the beef?

Offline

#86 21/3/16 6:02

s10k
Member

Re: AE support for PowerPC Macs

3371-Alpha wrote:
s10k wrote:

For that it would be even preferable to rewrite part of it in C++11 + some js library

I think that's way beyond my skill level. I'll see if I can get QT5 built first.

I was not saying to you do it (rewrite the tool code).

I think building Qt5 first for PPC would be easier and this step you probably could do it.

I don't have a powerpc so it is impossible to me to try.

Offline

#87 21/3/16 15:56

3371-Alpha
Member

Re: AE support for PowerPC Macs

Well MacPorts if failing to snatch the dependencies I need on my end, then again MacPorts has always given me trouble with my current ISP.

Last edited by 3371-Alpha (21/3/16 15:57)


PowerMac G5 Dual 2.0GHz 2003 (Model: 7,2)
Mac OS X 10.5.8 (Leopard)
7GB RAM (OWC PC-3200U-30330 DDR SDRAM 400MHz)
ATi Radeon 9600 Pro 64MB (GPU overclocked to 438.75MHz, VRAM to 330.75MHz)

Offline

#88 21/3/16 19:46

Iritscen
Moderator

Re: AE support for PowerPC Macs

According to http://doc.qt.io/qt-5/osx.html, Qt 5 no longer has support for PPC Macs.  I had hoped that I could coax a 32-bit Intel build of Qt to cross-compile XmlTools into 32-bits for PPC, but a 32-bit Intel build is not working at all.  It seems that, even though 32-bit builds may not have been officially dropped, the developers of the underlying 3rd-party projects must not be maintaining such support, because a lot of the source files are giving me errors that relate to a lack of 32-bit support.

I would suggest that you go ahead and try playing AE Oni.  You won't be missing a lot without patches; in fact, the texture issue is likely to be a bigger obstacle to enjoying the mods.


byproducts are fine, but where's the beef?

Offline

#89 21/3/16 22:23

3371-Alpha
Member

Re: AE support for PowerPC Macs

Really? Well that's a shame. So unless someone backports XmlTools like s10k described, it's basically not possible.
Oh well. I've got plenty of other mods to look forward to, right?


PowerMac G5 Dual 2.0GHz 2003 (Model: 7,2)
Mac OS X 10.5.8 (Leopard)
7GB RAM (OWC PC-3200U-30330 DDR SDRAM 400MHz)
ATi Radeon 9600 Pro 64MB (GPU overclocked to 438.75MHz, VRAM to 330.75MHz)

Offline

#90 21/3/16 22:57

Iritscen
Moderator

Re: AE support for PowerPC Macs

Yep, any mod that does not use XML patching should work fine, and that's most of them.  Unfortunately there is no simple way to tell from within the AEI if a mod contains XML patching, but if the downloaded mod package (in AEInstaller/packages/) contains a patches/ folder, those are the mods that could have issues (see my posts above for specific examples).  But there's still script mods, new characters, and even new levels that you should be able to enjoy.  Of course, you are somewhat breaking new ground here because we haven't had an active PPC user on the forum for a while now, so just let us know if you have issues with any mods that don't have patches in them.


byproducts are fine, but where's the beef?

Offline

#91 24/3/16 23:41

3371-Alpha
Member

Re: AE support for PowerPC Macs

After enjoying this wonderful little utility (seriously this tool does more than some commercial software I've used), I've finally come across a few of those color inverted mods you mentioned. The only two mods that are affected by this are the "character Retexture" & "Better Warehouse & Training" mods. What was it I had to do to fix this again?

Last edited by 3371-Alpha (25/3/16 1:26)


PowerMac G5 Dual 2.0GHz 2003 (Model: 7,2)
Mac OS X 10.5.8 (Leopard)
7GB RAM (OWC PC-3200U-30330 DDR SDRAM 400MHz)
ATi Radeon 9600 Pro 64MB (GPU overclocked to 438.75MHz, VRAM to 330.75MHz)

Offline

#92 25/3/16 9:25

Iritscen
Moderator

Re: AE support for PowerPC Macs

I think you'll find other inverted textures as time goes on.  What you'll have to do is convert the TXMPs to a standard format (I think PNG is good) and then swap the red and blue channels in the image editing program of your choice.  EdT used to do this in Photoshop, as described here.

First you have to find which textures in the package are the problem (this might be the tricky part).  Then you convert them using the syntax:

mono OniSplit.exe -extract:png /path/to/destination/ TXMPsomething.oni

After swapping the channels, you convert them back to .oni files:

mono OniSplit.exe -create:txmp /path/to/destination/ -format:bgra32 TXMPsomething.png

byproducts are fine, but where's the beef?

Offline

#93 25/3/16 21:39

EdT
Moderator

Re: AE support for PowerPC Macs

I need to clarify the procedure to fix the inverted textures for PPC based Mac, based on my experiments found here: http://wiki.oni2.net/User_talk:Neo/Archive5

When using the command -format:bgra32 the red and alpha channels need to be swapped, the blue and green channels also need to be swapped.  Also, if there is an envmap, it must be included in the command:

mono OniSplit.exe -create:txmp /path/to/destination/  -genmipmaps -format:bgra32 -envmap:TXMPenvksface path/to/file/TXMPIteration001%2FKS_face.tga

Swapping the red and blue channels, applied to converting the txmp using xml file such as:

<Oni>
    <Texture>
        <Flags>HasMipMaps</Flags>
        <Format>ARGB8888</Format>
        <EnvMap>TXMPenvksface</EnvMap>
        <Image>TXMPIteration001%2FKS_face.tga</Image>
    </Texture>
</Oni>

However, ARGB8888 has been replaced by RGBA  Edit: When using RGBA in xml file, channel swapping is the same as bgra32.

Last edited by EdT (26/3/16 16:43)

Offline

#94 29/3/16 21:10

3371-Alpha
Member

Re: AE support for PowerPC Macs

Thanks for the advice. I honestly didn't read your responses until a moment ago (kind of a dick move, I know; also sorry). Anyways, is it possible to flip the channels in GIMP after I convert the image? I can't afford PhotoShop.


PowerMac G5 Dual 2.0GHz 2003 (Model: 7,2)
Mac OS X 10.5.8 (Leopard)
7GB RAM (OWC PC-3200U-30330 DDR SDRAM 400MHz)
ATi Radeon 9600 Pro 64MB (GPU overclocked to 438.75MHz, VRAM to 330.75MHz)

Offline

#95 29/3/16 22:20

EdT
Moderator

Re: AE support for PowerPC Macs

I don't know about the PPC version of GIMP, but, the latest version does support channels.  So give GIMP a try and see if you can switch channels with it.  Personally, I use Photoshop, I have not used GIMP.

Offline

#96 29/3/16 22:33

3371-Alpha
Member

Re: AE support for PowerPC Macs

The last PPC binary distribution of GIMP was 2.6.11. Not sure if that's sufficient enough.


PowerMac G5 Dual 2.0GHz 2003 (Model: 7,2)
Mac OS X 10.5.8 (Leopard)
7GB RAM (OWC PC-3200U-30330 DDR SDRAM 400MHz)
ATi Radeon 9600 Pro 64MB (GPU overclocked to 438.75MHz, VRAM to 330.75MHz)

Offline

#97 29/3/16 23:01

EdT
Moderator

Re: AE support for PowerPC Macs

Offline

#98 30/3/16 23:25

3371-Alpha
Member

Re: AE support for PowerPC Macs

Hmm, this is pretty easy. The only challenging part is finding the inverted texture as Iritscen mentioned. Too bad there's not a QuickLook plugin for that purpose.


PowerMac G5 Dual 2.0GHz 2003 (Model: 7,2)
Mac OS X 10.5.8 (Leopard)
7GB RAM (OWC PC-3200U-30330 DDR SDRAM 400MHz)
ATi Radeon 9600 Pro 64MB (GPU overclocked to 438.75MHz, VRAM to 330.75MHz)

Offline

#99 31/3/16 9:22

Iritscen
Moderator

Re: AE support for PowerPC Macs

You could convert all the textures to PNG first and then QuickLook them.  You'd have to start off by looking at the textures in-game, noting which ones were inverted, then looking for the PNG files that seem to have those textures, since I don't know if they'll appear inverted as PNG files.


byproducts are fine, but where's the beef?

Offline

#100 31/3/16 15:12

EdT
Moderator

Re: AE support for PowerPC Macs

For the characters, in Dev mode, you can shapeshift into the various characters and when you encounter one with the inverted textures, take note of the character class displayed in the console.  Extract the TRMA for that character as xml, then you can see the names of the textures used.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB