Oni Central Forum

A forum for the Oni community

You are not logged in.

#51 14/3/16 22:21

Iritscen
Moderator

Re: AE support for PowerPC Macs

Hmm, it looks like we might have wasted our time there, as I am now researching this in more depth and I don't see evidence that Java is looking in its own Home/bin/ directory, only in some standard system paths.  But the exact paths being used vary depending on how Java is run.  I have compiled a simple Java test app that looks for Mono; maybe we can compare its results and learn something.  Check your email.


byproducts are fine, but where's the beef?

Offline

#52 15/3/16 12:15

3371-Alpha
Member

Re: AE support for PowerPC Macs

With OpenJDK, the output is:

Searching for vim as control.
Results: [/usr/bin/vim]
Searching for mono as experiment.
Results: [/usr/bin/mono]
PATH=/sw/bin:/sw/sbin:/opt/local/bin:/opt/local/sbin:/usr/bin:/bin:/usr/sbin:/sbin:/usr/local/bin:/usr/X11/bin:/opt/local/bin:/usr/local/git/bin:/usr/texbin:/usr/X11R6/bin

Last edited by 3371-Alpha (15/3/16 12:15)


PowerMac G5 Dual 2.0GHz 2003 (Model: 7,2)
Mac OS X 10.5.8 (Leopard)
7GB RAM (OWC PC-3200U-30330 DDR SDRAM 400MHz)
ATi Radeon 9600 Pro 64MB (GPU overclocked to 438.75MHz, VRAM to 330.75MHz)

Offline

#53 15/3/16 12:20

3371-Alpha
Member

Re: AE support for PowerPC Macs

And with Java 5, it gives me a "bad version number in .class file" error.


PowerMac G5 Dual 2.0GHz 2003 (Model: 7,2)
Mac OS X 10.5.8 (Leopard)
7GB RAM (OWC PC-3200U-30330 DDR SDRAM 400MHz)
ATi Radeon 9600 Pro 64MB (GPU overclocked to 438.75MHz, VRAM to 330.75MHz)

Offline

#54 15/3/16 13:33

Iritscen
Moderator

Re: AE support for PowerPC Macs

Yeah, I actually built it with the Java 6 SDK because that's the requirement of the AEI, so I guess Java 5 won't understand it.

What's interesting about that result with OpenJDK is that it proves that when you run that version of Java, it's inheriting the PATH variable properly from the command line, including the directory that Mono is in (/usr/bin/).  Running the .class file in a different way (like my Run AE Installer script does for the AEI), would not provide the same PATH, but as long as you are invoking the AEInstaller2.jar file with OpenJDK on the command line in the same way that you did for that .class file I sent you, it seems like it should definitely be able to find Mono.  I'm going to have to think about this a bit more.


byproducts are fine, but where's the beef?

Offline

#55 15/3/16 17:07

Iritscen
Moderator

Re: AE support for PowerPC Macs

Alloc has updated the AEI in a couple ways that may pertain to your situation, if you would care to run the Updater like you did back here: http://oni.bungie.org/forum/viewtopic.p … 624#p50624.  If the AEI is updated to 2.25 and still doesn't work, please look again at aei_output.log to see if it has contents this time.


byproducts are fine, but where's the beef?

Offline

#56 15/3/16 19:52

3371-Alpha
Member

Re: AE support for PowerPC Macs

Hmm. This time it's giving me a different error message entirely "This program has to be placed in the subfolder AE/AEInstaller/bin inside a vanilla Oni folder. The full path of the .jar-file has to be: OniFolder/AE/AEInstaller/bin/AEInstaller2.jar" Strangely it's already in that location.


PowerMac G5 Dual 2.0GHz 2003 (Model: 7,2)
Mac OS X 10.5.8 (Leopard)
7GB RAM (OWC PC-3200U-30330 DDR SDRAM 400MHz)
ATi Radeon 9600 Pro 64MB (GPU overclocked to 438.75MHz, VRAM to 330.75MHz)

Offline

#57 15/3/16 20:23

Iritscen
Moderator

Re: AE support for PowerPC Macs

Hrm.  Was that when the AEI Updater launched the AEI, or when you launch it from Terminal?


byproducts are fine, but where's the beef?

Offline

#58 15/3/16 21:27

3371-Alpha
Member

Re: AE support for PowerPC Macs

Actually AEI's updater has never been able to launch AEI on my computer. I just assumed it was an issue/limitation of OpenJDK since it's not an official Java.


PowerMac G5 Dual 2.0GHz 2003 (Model: 7,2)
Mac OS X 10.5.8 (Leopard)
7GB RAM (OWC PC-3200U-30330 DDR SDRAM 400MHz)
ATi Radeon 9600 Pro 64MB (GPU overclocked to 438.75MHz, VRAM to 330.75MHz)

Offline

#59 15/3/16 21:44

Iritscen
Moderator

Re: AE support for PowerPC Macs

Oh, I see.  Yes, that would make sense.  What doesn't make sense is that the AEI doesn't know its location, because I don't think Alloc changed anything that should be causing that error (it does launch for me).  I'm going to have to talk to Alloc about this when we're both awake tomorrow.  You don't have any special characters in the path to the Oni folder, do you?  It's probably just at /Applications or something?


byproducts are fine, but where's the beef?

Offline

#60 15/3/16 22:06

3371-Alpha
Member

Re: AE support for PowerPC Macs

Nope, the only thing above it is the Applications folder.


PowerMac G5 Dual 2.0GHz 2003 (Model: 7,2)
Mac OS X 10.5.8 (Leopard)
7GB RAM (OWC PC-3200U-30330 DDR SDRAM 400MHz)
ATi Radeon 9600 Pro 64MB (GPU overclocked to 438.75MHz, VRAM to 330.75MHz)

Offline

#61 16/3/16 9:29

Iritscen
Moderator

Re: AE support for PowerPC Macs

Do you have an aei_output.log file in AEInstaller/?


byproducts are fine, but where's the beef?

Offline

#62 16/3/16 10:52

3371-Alpha
Member

Re: AE support for PowerPC Macs

And things just keep getting stranger & stranger.
aei_output.log:

AE Installer 2.25
Time:      2016-03-15 19:40:56
Java:      "OpenJDK Runtime Environment" v. 1.7.0-internal by "Oracle Corporation" (spec. 1.7)
Java home: /System/Library/Frameworks/JavaVM.framework/Versions/1.7.0/Home/jre
Command:   /Applications/Oni/AE/AEInstaller/bin/AEInstaller2.jar
JarPath:   /Applications/OniFolder/AE/AEInstaller/bin
PrefsPath: /Applications/OniFolder/AE/AEInstaller
DataPath:  /Applications/OniFolder/AE/AEInstaller/packages
DownPath:  /var/tmp/oni_aei/downloads
TempPath:  /var/tmp/oni_aei
ValidPath: false
Platform:  Darwin detected as MACOS
Architect: X86
.NET:      true
OniSplit:  false
Globalized:false
Free space on temp: 239 GiB
Free space on Jar:  239 GiB


PowerMac G5 Dual 2.0GHz 2003 (Model: 7,2)
Mac OS X 10.5.8 (Leopard)
7GB RAM (OWC PC-3200U-30330 DDR SDRAM 400MHz)
ATi Radeon 9600 Pro 64MB (GPU overclocked to 438.75MHz, VRAM to 330.75MHz)

Offline

#63 16/3/16 11:14

Iritscen
Moderator

Re: AE support for PowerPC Macs

Okay, the message about the AEI not being in the right place happens if the Oni folder does not have GameDataFolder in it.  And it looks like you have two Oni folders, "Oni" and "OniFolder".  All you want to have is a single vanilla installation of Oni as obtained from the CD-ROM, and then within that you want to have the AE/ hierarchy that we've already discussed.  The name of the Oni installation folder shouldn't matter, though "Oni" is the safest choice.


byproducts are fine, but where's the beef?

Offline

#64 17/3/16 18:19

3371-Alpha
Member

Re: AE support for PowerPC Macs

But I only have one Oni folder (called "Oni"). Also my Game Data folder's in the /AE directory, Was that wrong?


PowerMac G5 Dual 2.0GHz 2003 (Model: 7,2)
Mac OS X 10.5.8 (Leopard)
7GB RAM (OWC PC-3200U-30330 DDR SDRAM 400MHz)
ATi Radeon 9600 Pro 64MB (GPU overclocked to 438.75MHz, VRAM to 330.75MHz)

Offline

#65 17/3/16 20:45

Iritscen
Moderator

Re: AE support for PowerPC Macs

Actually, as I stop and think about it, I don't understand how this could happen:

Command:   /Applications/Oni/AE/AEInstaller/bin/AEInstaller2.jar
JarPath:   /Applications/OniFolder/AE/AEInstaller/bin

The Command path should show the same Oni folder as the JarPath and subsequent paths.  I'm not sure how they can be different.  All I can say is that when Java gets the path of the running .jar, it's in /Applications/OniFolder/, so you must have made that folder and probably ran the AEInstaller2Updater from it, so it downloaded the AEI to that path.  Meanwhile, the actual data that the AEI needs to build on top of is in your Oni/ folder.

You don't want to actually make a GameDataFolder in AE/; that is created automatically using the vanilla GDF in Oni/.  You just want the AE/ folder, and inside that you want AEInstaller/, and inside that you want AEInstaller2Updater.jar, and when you run that, it runs the AEI and then everything else gets created.

Just a reminder that the old AppleScripts for setting up the AE and running the Updater and Installer are in our repo's history here if you want to compile those as applications yourself and just use them instead of doing this manually. However, the accompanying instructions were written for the later ASOC version of the scripts that won't work on your Mac.  You just want to open each .scpt and File>Save as... an application.  In order for AE Setup to do its thing, you also need to place the app version of the Run AE Installer script inside its bundle's Contents/Resources/ folder, alongside the AEInstaller2Updater.jar itself.  Now that I type it all out, it seems more complicated than just making the folders yourself smile  The Setup app was created at the cost of more complexity on my end in order to make things simpler for end users.


byproducts are fine, but where's the beef?

Offline

#66 18/3/16 11:12

3371-Alpha
Member

Re: AE support for PowerPC Macs

I have never once renamed my Oni folder "OniFolder" so that can't be the issue. Also what baffles me is that my architecture is listed as x86 in the output log. Something is definatly not being detected properly.


PowerMac G5 Dual 2.0GHz 2003 (Model: 7,2)
Mac OS X 10.5.8 (Leopard)
7GB RAM (OWC PC-3200U-30330 DDR SDRAM 400MHz)
ATi Radeon 9600 Pro 64MB (GPU overclocked to 438.75MHz, VRAM to 330.75MHz)

Offline

#67 18/3/16 19:34

Iritscen
Moderator

Re: AE support for PowerPC Macs

The "x86" is because the AEI calls all 32-bit systems "x86" and all 64-bit systems "AMD64", so it's technically getting the correct information but just calling it the wrong thing (I've asked Alloc to fix that).

Just to make sure, I revived my old G5 and went through the steps we've talked about -- manually putting the AEInstaller2Updater.jar in the right place, installing OpenJDK 7, installing Mono 2, installing XQuartz (my X11 was too old), then running the AEI Updater, then running the AE Installer, and it worked for me.  The one-time initialization in the AE Installer takes a looong time (24 minutes), but I was able to install mods and play Oni (with the older PPC build of the game app).  Here's what the top of aei_output.log looks like for me:

AE Installer 2.26
Time:      2016-03-18 19:36:43
Java:      "OpenJDK Runtime Environment" v. 1.7.0-internal by "Oracle Corporation" (spec. 1.7)
Java home: /usr/local/openjdk7-zerovm-ppc-jyeary-2012-02-16-07-18-b00/jre
Command:   /Games/Oni/AE/AEInstaller/bin/AEInstaller2.jar
JarPath:   /Games/Oni/AE/AEInstaller/bin
PrefsPath: /Games/Oni/AE/AEInstaller
DataPath:  /Games/Oni/AE/AEInstaller/packages
DownPath:  /var/tmp/oni_aei/downloads
TempPath:  /var/tmp/oni_aei
ValidPath: true
Platform:  Darwin detected as MACOS
Architect: X86
.NET:      true
OniSplit:  false
Globalized:false
Free space on temp: 4.61 GiB
Free space on Jar:  4.61 GiB

Notice that the path to Oni is the same in all cases, and that ValidPath is true.


byproducts are fine, but where's the beef?

Offline

#68 18/3/16 21:45

3371-Alpha
Member

Re: AE support for PowerPC Macs

Finally got it working! I pulled the Game Data folder, Persist.dat & Key_config.txt out of the AE folder and into the Oni directory to make it work. Thank you for your help. Most people these days deem us obsolete and don't even bother to help other then "advise us" to buy a new machine. I admire your kindness.


PowerMac G5 Dual 2.0GHz 2003 (Model: 7,2)
Mac OS X 10.5.8 (Leopard)
7GB RAM (OWC PC-3200U-30330 DDR SDRAM 400MHz)
ATi Radeon 9600 Pro 64MB (GPU overclocked to 438.75MHz, VRAM to 330.75MHz)

Offline

#69 18/3/16 22:20

Iritscen
Moderator

Re: AE support for PowerPC Macs

Ah, glad to hear it's working, I was about out of ideas!  It sounds like the key was making sure the GDF was in Oni/, where the AEI would look for it.  Though I'm not sure how we resolved the Mono-finding issue.


byproducts are fine, but where's the beef?

Offline

#70 18/3/16 22:46

3371-Alpha
Member

Re: AE support for PowerPC Macs

Perhaps the issue was never an inability to find Mono but an inability to find the Game Data Folder and, possibly due to a glitch, instead said it was Mono that couldn't be found.


PowerMac G5 Dual 2.0GHz 2003 (Model: 7,2)
Mac OS X 10.5.8 (Leopard)
7GB RAM (OWC PC-3200U-30330 DDR SDRAM 400MHz)
ATi Radeon 9600 Pro 64MB (GPU overclocked to 438.75MHz, VRAM to 330.75MHz)

Offline

#71 19/3/16 0:43

Iritscen
Moderator

Re: AE support for PowerPC Macs

Well, as long as you can install mods, I guess that's the important thing.

3371-Alpha wrote:

Thank you for your help. Most people these days deem us obsolete and don't even bother to help other then "advise us" to buy a new machine.

Sure, well I figure you have your reasons for sticking with a PPC Mac, and anyway it's hard to just give up on any Oni fans in need.  There's not that many of us actively playing Oni these days as it is!

Just a reminder, we're expecting that you'll have trouble with the mods that contain a certain type of high-quality texture, so let us know if you run into that, and we can talk about how to convert them (it shouldn't be as hard as what we've just gone through smile).


byproducts are fine, but where's the beef?

Offline

#72 19/3/16 12:23

Iritscen
Moderator

Re: AE support for PowerPC Macs

Just a postscript -- it seems that we lost track of the change that must have actually fixed the Mono problem, which was when Alloc updated the Installer to 2.25.  After you updated to it, you experienced a different issue and we changed tracks trying to fix that, but it seems that the major issue really was that your Java installation was reporting as "Darwin" instead of "MACOS" and that this was preventing the AEI from identifying the platform and running the proper search for Mono.  So thanks to Alloc for fixing that, and I'm glad you happened to mention this "Darwin" business, 3371-Alpha.


byproducts are fine, but where's the beef?

Offline

#73 19/3/16 13:18

3371-Alpha
Member

Re: AE support for PowerPC Macs

Thanks. Hey I've also written a few apple scripts that should make launching AEI & AEI updater in OpenJDK a bit easier. Heres the source:

AEI Updater:
set pathwithSpaces to "/Applications/Oni/AE/AEInstaller/AEInstaller2Updater.jar"
do shell script "/System/Library/Frameworks/JavaVM.framework/Versions/1.7.0/Home/bin/java -Djava.awt.headless=false -jar " & quoted form of pathwithSpaces

AEI:
set pathwithSpaces to "/Applications/Oni/AE/AEInstaller/bin/AEInstaller2.jar"
do shell script "/System/Library/Frameworks/JavaVM.framework/Versions/1.7.0/Home/bin/java -Djava.awt.headless=false -jar " & quoted form of pathwithSpaces

Distribute them if you like.

Last edited by 3371-Alpha (19/3/16 13:18)


PowerMac G5 Dual 2.0GHz 2003 (Model: 7,2)
Mac OS X 10.5.8 (Leopard)
7GB RAM (OWC PC-3200U-30330 DDR SDRAM 400MHz)
ATi Radeon 9600 Pro 64MB (GPU overclocked to 438.75MHz, VRAM to 330.75MHz)

Offline

#74 19/3/16 15:18

Iritscen
Moderator

Re: AE support for PowerPC Macs

Thanks, those are a good reference for anyone else who ends up having to use OpenJDK.


byproducts are fine, but where's the beef?

Offline

#75 19/3/16 16:58

3371-Alpha
Member

Re: AE support for PowerPC Macs

Iritscen wrote:

Sure, well I figure you have your reasons for sticking with a PPC Mac

That reminds me, I don't think I answered your question earlier. The reason I still use PPC is because, first off, I'm broke. There's no way I could afford a new Mac. Second, my G5 works well. In fact the G5 chip rivals the core 2 in sheer power. And third, I like being different. That's apple's slogan after all, isn't it? These are just my reasons. Other PPC users may have different reasons though (i.e. ClassicHasClass hates CISC processors).


PowerMac G5 Dual 2.0GHz 2003 (Model: 7,2)
Mac OS X 10.5.8 (Leopard)
7GB RAM (OWC PC-3200U-30330 DDR SDRAM 400MHz)
ATi Radeon 9600 Pro 64MB (GPU overclocked to 438.75MHz, VRAM to 330.75MHz)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB