Oni Central Forum

A forum for the Oni community

You are not logged in.

#101 18/1/11 21:59

Gumby
Member
From: Seattle, WA, USA
Registered: 30/8/07

Re: Flatline Alpha

I've stabilized MP in general. If you'd like to run through a level some time I can see what is crashing.


Iritscen: roll
Iritscen: it's amazing this program even works
Gumby: i know
Iritscen: and that statement applies to my code, not just yours

Offline

#102 19/1/11 0:58

Gumby
Member
From: Seattle, WA, USA
Registered: 30/8/07

Re: Flatline Alpha

Ok, I lied. New bug: clients freeze on death. smile


Iritscen: roll
Iritscen: it's amazing this program even works
Gumby: i know
Iritscen: and that statement applies to my code, not just yours

Offline

#103 19/1/11 10:07

Coyote
Member
From: Paradise
Registered: 3/7/07

Re: Flatline Alpha

Any tips on cut down ping?


Does your blood burn when you kill? Mine does

Offline

#104 19/1/11 10:29

Dirk Gently
Member
From: Boston, MA
Registered: 12/6/09
Website

Re: Flatline Alpha

buy a faster connection for yourself and the host?
OR
move closer to the host.

Offline

#105 19/1/11 10:55

Gumby
Member
From: Seattle, WA, USA
Registered: 30/8/07

Re: Flatline Alpha

Wait until I make my awesome revamp of the netcode. big_smile


Iritscen: roll
Iritscen: it's amazing this program even works
Gumby: i know
Iritscen: and that statement applies to my code, not just yours

Offline

#106 19/1/11 11:02

Delano762
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 29/12/10
Website

Re: Flatline Alpha

Dirk Gently wrote:

buy a faster connection for yourself and the host?
OR
move closer to the host.

You are clearly bonkers and haven't played Flatline yet. My ping is more or less fine on other games (60-150), so your advice is aboard the midtown express to hell. The ping is Flatline's problem. Anyway, SUCCESS! Flatline does work, and I've made my first frag in Oni! Yay!

Last edited by Delano762 (19/1/11 11:02)


Circus Afro, Circus Afro, Polka Dot, Polka Dot!

Offline

#107 19/1/11 11:14

Gumby
Member
From: Seattle, WA, USA
Registered: 30/8/07

Re: Flatline Alpha

Delano, you need to understand that Flatline's netcode isn't quality. Too much waste. And there is no lag compensation. And the ping display isn't accurate at all. Cheers!


Iritscen: roll
Iritscen: it's amazing this program even works
Gumby: i know
Iritscen: and that statement applies to my code, not just yours

Offline

#108 19/1/11 15:35

Mukade
Member
From: Ottawa, Ontario - Canada
Registered: 29/5/07

Re: Flatline Alpha

Yeah, fighting isn't bad, my only qualm with the lag so far is the turning lol. Moving your mouse and having your character comply about a second later is quite annoying


"He looks mean enough to tear my arm off and beat me to death with it. In fact, he looks mean enough to tear his OWN arm off and beat me to death with it."

Offline

#109 19/1/11 16:24

Gumby
Member
From: Seattle, WA, USA
Registered: 30/8/07

Re: Flatline Alpha

Hmph. I still say something is majorly wrong with your guys' LAN. Or myplea's computer. I suppose there might be something I can disable to make your camera always stay with the mouse, but it won't change how fast your character moves.


Iritscen: roll
Iritscen: it's amazing this program even works
Gumby: i know
Iritscen: and that statement applies to my code, not just yours

Offline

#110 19/1/11 21:07

Gumby
Member
From: Seattle, WA, USA
Registered: 30/8/07

Re: Flatline Alpha

New version definitely tonight.


Iritscen: roll
Iritscen: it's amazing this program even works
Gumby: i know
Iritscen: and that statement applies to my code, not just yours

Offline

#111 20/1/11 1:21

Gumby
Member
From: Seattle, WA, USA
Registered: 30/8/07

Re: Flatline Alpha

New version out.

Changes:
Optimized packet sending a bit (means less lag\bandwidth usage)
"kick" command now kills off the player
"name" command now works without anyone crashing

Bugs:
Players appear to be temporarily dead when they join the game. This is purely cosmetic in nature.
Players will be a little bit jerky (its a technical term, bear with me here) while I work out how to properly sync the rotation
Newly joined players may have blank names on the scoreboard.


Iritscen: roll
Iritscen: it's amazing this program even works
Gumby: i know
Iritscen: and that statement applies to my code, not just yours

Offline

#112 20/1/11 13:59

NMS
Member
From: Belmont, MA
Registered: 31/12/07
Website

Re: Flatline Alpha

Ok, I think I've got it set up properly. Anyone want to test it out with me?

Edit: I saw the post about Hamachi and got that.

Last edited by NMS (20/1/11 15:22)

Offline

#113 20/1/11 16:59

Gumby
Member
From: Seattle, WA, USA
Registered: 30/8/07

Re: Flatline Alpha

TkTX2.png


Iritscen: roll
Iritscen: it's amazing this program even works
Gumby: i know
Iritscen: and that statement applies to my code, not just yours

Offline

#114 20/1/11 17:36

s10k
Member
From: Portugal
Registered: 14/1/07
Website

Re: Flatline Alpha

hehe nice. ^__^

Offline

#115 20/1/11 18:51

Gumby
Member
From: Seattle, WA, USA
Registered: 30/8/07

Re: Flatline Alpha


Iritscen: roll
Iritscen: it's amazing this program even works
Gumby: i know
Iritscen: and that statement applies to my code, not just yours

Offline

#116 20/1/11 21:19

EdT
Moderator
From: Los Angeles, CA
Registered: 13/1/07
Website

Re: Flatline Alpha

Gumby: Your work is awesome! That album was cool to look at.  Next time someone needs to record a video.

Offline

#117 20/1/11 21:35

Gumby
Member
From: Seattle, WA, USA
Registered: 30/8/07

Re: Flatline Alpha

At least one person did, I'm waiting for it to get converted to a format that doesn't take up epic amounts of disk space.


Iritscen: roll
Iritscen: it's amazing this program even works
Gumby: i know
Iritscen: and that statement applies to my code, not just yours

Offline

#118 20/1/11 22:16

myplea1
Member
From: Ottawa,Canada
Registered: 25/5/09

Re: Flatline Alpha

I have plenty of footage that ill cut and edit and release later.


Awol

Offline

#119 20/1/11 22:21

Gumby
Member
From: Seattle, WA, USA
Registered: 30/8/07

Re: Flatline Alpha

If possible, could I get the raw footage first? Like I said in the chatroom, I'd prefer to see any material being released before it is actually released.


Iritscen: roll
Iritscen: it's amazing this program even works
Gumby: i know
Iritscen: and that statement applies to my code, not just yours

Offline

#120 21/1/11 11:50

Gumby
Member
From: Seattle, WA, USA
Registered: 30/8/07

Re: Flatline Alpha


Iritscen: roll
Iritscen: it's amazing this program even works
Gumby: i know
Iritscen: and that statement applies to my code, not just yours

Offline

#121 21/1/11 14:54

s10k
Member
From: Portugal
Registered: 14/1/07
Website

Re: Flatline Alpha

This runs very well. I tried it yesterday with Gumby and it run smooth with little lag. I was expecting much more lag for an alpha release.

Offline

#122 21/1/11 18:27

Jon God
Member
Registered: 17/1/07

Re: Flatline Alpha

Offtopic, but has anyone gotten Oni working under wine?


Jon-God.jpg
PSN: Jon_God
XBL: Ernie The Bear

Offline

#123 21/1/11 18:45

Den
Member
From: Västerås Sweden
Registered: 24/9/10

Re: Flatline Alpha

Im just testing around here and there, but anyway;

Opening the "console" using "`", I halfly expect it's on some other keyboard layout, as I need to hold shift in order to make that particular symbol. I pressed ".", which froze the game. I don't know what this console looks like, or am I maybe so obviously confusing it with the f1 screen you use to type cheats in?

EDIT: Nevermiiiiiiuund, I just found out on my outmost absolute typerklinker that the console is the button above TAB for me, that'a'problem out of the way!

Aah~ I am so extrodinarily slowpoked to computer hazzles, whoopie!

Also; Is Hamachi mandatory in this whole, deal of connecting as I am not familiar with that program too much.

Last edited by Den (21/1/11 18:49)

Offline

#124 21/1/11 19:43

s10k
Member
From: Portugal
Registered: 14/1/07
Website

Re: Flatline Alpha

Jon God wrote:

Offtopic, but has anyone gotten Oni working under wine?

yes at least in linux, there are some post about it here, try search.

Offline

#125 21/1/11 19:57

Gumby
Member
From: Seattle, WA, USA
Registered: 30/8/07

Re: Flatline Alpha

Hamachi is not neccessary, but makes things ten times easier when trying to set up a game.


Iritscen: roll
Iritscen: it's amazing this program even works
Gumby: i know
Iritscen: and that statement applies to my code, not just yours

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB