Oni Central Forum

A forum for the Oni community

You are not logged in.

#401 13/2/15 18:22

Erik
Member
Registered: 13/2/15

Re: Flatline Alpha

Ititscen that would be epic!! will it possible to be using guns?  The flatline before was only hand to hand ( wich was epic enough but still...) good luck!   big_smile:D

Offline

#402 13/2/15 21:21

Iritscen
Moderator
From: NC, USA
Registered: 22/10/07

Re: Flatline Alpha

Hi.  I think that technically weapons do work in Flatline, but Gumby didn't want people using them because he hadn't synced up weapon ownership and damage.  This is also true for my multiplayer code so far; guns can be used, but since they're not synced, there's a good chance that they will make the game go oos (out of sync).  We even found a crashing bug recently that comes from weapon oos.  But yes, fairly soon they will be fully synced and supported.


byproducts are fine, but where's the beef?

Offline

#403 22/2/15 15:20

Gumby
Member
From: Seattle, WA, USA
Registered: 30/8/07

Re: Flatline Alpha

Weapons are tough to sync for two reasons:

1. Ownership (easy to solve, relatively)
2. Physical projectiles (particles) are really really tough to sync and make look right. Unlike Call of Duty, etc, Oni's projectiles have travel time, accelaration, and can move around randomly.


Iritscen: roll
Iritscen: it's amazing this program even works
Gumby: i know
Iritscen: and that statement applies to my code, not just yours

Offline

#404 28/2/15 0:07

danieli21
Member
Registered: 31/1/14

Re: Flatline Alpha

Gumby you said you were out of the project, what the hell hahah, well anyway, Iritc, have you already started this thing?

Last edited by danieli21 (28/2/15 0:07)

Offline

#405 28/2/15 9:37

Iritscen
Moderator
From: NC, USA
Registered: 22/10/07

Re: Flatline Alpha

Gumby's not saying he's working on Flatline again, he's just explaining the issues with weapons.  Are you asking me if I've started working on synced weapons yet?  No, but partial weapon sync is scheduled to be done around v0.070.


byproducts are fine, but where's the beef?

Offline

#406 28/2/15 13:08

danieli21
Member
Registered: 31/1/14

Re: Flatline Alpha

i really meant if you already working on the main multiplayer

Offline

#407 28/2/15 13:18

Iritscen
Moderator
From: NC, USA
Registered: 22/10/07

Re: Flatline Alpha

I'm not sure what you mean by "main".  Gumby has his project and I have mine.  I already made an initial release of my own multiplayer project over here, which is where I've been trying to direct future questions about that project so we can stop derailing the Flatline thread.


byproducts are fine, but where's the beef?

Offline

#408 28/2/15 13:44

danieli21
Member
Registered: 31/1/14

Re: Flatline Alpha

DAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAMN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! THANK YOU MAN! i didn't know about that!!!!!!

Offline

#409 28/2/15 13:52

danieli21
Member
Registered: 31/1/14

Re: Flatline Alpha

well, i actually have windows 7, is that mulyiplayer exclussive for MAC?

Offline

#410 28/2/15 14:22

Iritscen
Moderator
From: NC, USA
Registered: 22/10/07

Re: Flatline Alpha

For now it is -- I explain why in that thread.  I'm looking forward to eventually bringing it to Windows too.


byproducts are fine, but where's the beef?

Offline

#411 9/2/16 7:57

Gleb
Member
From: Novokuznetsk. Russia
Registered: 7/8/14

Re: Flatline Alpha

Iritscen wrote:

I'm looking forward to eventually bringing it to Windows too.

This idea is already dead?

Offline

#412 9/2/16 10:28

Iritscen
Moderator
From: NC, USA
Registered: 22/10/07

Re: Flatline Alpha

Well, no, but unfortunately I have not been finding the time to work on multiplayer at all.  I'm hoping that soon my job's schedule will get back to normal and I can resume the multiplayer work.

Once again, please try to post only questions about Flatline on this thread.


byproducts are fine, but where's the beef?

Offline

#413 9/2/16 11:21

Gleb
Member
From: Novokuznetsk. Russia
Registered: 7/8/14

Re: Flatline Alpha

It is clear, okay.

Offline

#414 13/2/16 20:46

Scarlett
Member
From: Jamaica
Registered: 25/11/15

Re: Flatline Alpha

Cool!!! Multiplayer mode! I would love to try this. If it is possible to add game modes like survival and capture the flag or free for all or something. This is amazing!!

Offline

#415 13/2/16 21:57

Iritscen
Moderator
From: NC, USA
Registered: 22/10/07

Re: Flatline Alpha

Just to be clear, Flatline isn't under development anymore (I'm speaking for Gumby here since he isn't around much).  Since people are not playing it regularly, you will have to arrange a match at a certain time with other players in order to catch them online.


byproducts are fine, but where's the beef?

Offline

#416 21/5/16 9:45

Saiko
Member
Registered: 21/5/16

Re: Flatline Alpha

can anyone help me 2 start oni online .... i saw the instructions but i didn't understand anything big_smile

soooo .... i guess i really need help smile

thank you

Offline

#417 21/5/16 11:12

Iritscen
Moderator
From: NC, USA
Registered: 22/10/07

Re: Flatline Alpha

You'll have to be more specific.  Which part didn't you understand?  (By the way, the "master server" part will not work anymore because Mariusnet is offline for good, as far as I know.  Everyone has to use the "Direct IP" instructions.)


byproducts are fine, but where's the beef?

Offline

#418 21/5/16 11:17

Saiko
Member
Registered: 21/5/16

Re: Flatline Alpha

well the master server was hard part big_smile .... that site not work anymore ..... sooo
is there other solution ?

Offline

#419 21/5/16 13:50

Iritscen
Moderator
From: NC, USA
Registered: 22/10/07

Re: Flatline Alpha

The other solution is just to find players manually (by IRC, instant messenger, Hamachi, etc.) and then get the IP address of the host and use the "Direct IP Connection" instructions.


byproducts are fine, but where's the beef?

Offline

#420 21/5/16 14:07

Saiko
Member
Registered: 21/5/16

Re: Flatline Alpha

In hamachi 1v1 only or can be more ?

Offline

#421 21/5/16 15:33

Iritscen
Moderator
From: NC, USA
Registered: 22/10/07

Re: Flatline Alpha

Unfortunately I haven't used Hamachi, since I'm a Mac user, but I thought it had been used to connect multiple players.  Maybe someone else here has experience using it with Flatline.


byproducts are fine, but where's the beef?

Offline

#422 23/5/16 13:37

Saiko
Member
Registered: 21/5/16

Re: Flatline Alpha

my hamachi room is Username : ONIFlatline 1
                             Password : ONIFlatline 1

Last edited by Saiko (24/5/16 10:09)

Offline

#423 24/5/16 14:35

Scarlett
Member
From: Jamaica
Registered: 25/11/15

Re: Flatline Alpha

I read up about hamachi and it seems you can connect with more than one player online. This would be great!!

Offline

#424 24/5/16 15:31

Lithium
Member
From: Colorado
Registered: 17/10/08

Re: Flatline Alpha

Yeah, depends on how much the room allows, free version allows up to 5 people but iirc the host could make another hamachi room with more people and as long as they all connect to the host it's fine.

Last edited by Lithium (24/5/16 15:33)


Oni IRC | Kumite! Kumite! Kumite!

Offline

#425 25/5/16 17:28

Saiko
Member
Registered: 21/5/16

Re: Flatline Alpha

Now i got problem here .... i cant control with gamma in the game ... does anyone have an idea how 2 fix it plzzz ?

Last edited by Saiko (25/5/16 17:29)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB