Oni Central Forum

A forum for the Oni community

You are not logged in.

#1 11/16/09 13:11

varrojo

Oni Models License

Hi, this is my first post.

I'm a computer graphics teacher and was (still am) a big fan of the game. I came across this tool that let me export some of Oni's models as .obj files and it only took me a couple of hours to get them drawn using OpenGL.

Maybe this isn't the right place to ask, but I was wondering, is it possible for me to redistribute at least one of these obj files to my students as to have them render those as part of an exercise? This would be for academic purposes only. I think these models provide a great means for putting into practice many concepts such as basic rasterization, shading and texture mapping.

I can make it clear to them that they must not use the models for any other purpose besides my class.

Thanks in advance,
Alejandro.-

Last edited by varrojo (11/16/09 13:11)

#2 11/16/09 13:11

TOCS

Re: Oni Models License

Hello varrojo, and welcome to the community!

There is nothing illegal in exporting a model from Oni, if you've got the original game.
Anyways, I don't think you'll have to ask for such another time. smile

No one could blame you. smile

#3 11/16/09 13:11

varrojo

Hi TOCS, thank you for your quick answer and your warm welcome smile

I see what you mean, thanks. However, I was wondering whether there could be a copyright issue of some sort if I wanted distribute the model to people (my students) who probably do not have the game.

Best regards,
Alejandro.-

#4 11/16/09 14:11

demos_kratos

Hello varrojo and welcome to the most friendly community ever.

That shouldn't be a problem. I believe smile But still, what kind of exercise would it be? I just wonder what sort of thing is possible to do with those models in nowadays Computer Graphics.

Jente, du er deilig, du er lekker, ihvertfall nå når jeg drikker.
Baby, du har det som trengs, hva er sannsynligheten for at vi to hopper til sengs?