Oni Central Forum

A forum for the Oni community

You are not logged in.

#1 01/07/11 20:01

jafurcha

Help with ONI

I am new to this game and need help with fighting, even though this is an embarrassing question to ask. There is also so much to know about fighting in this game that I don't know where to begin.

The tutorial level says that the throws are the easiest and most powerful attacks in the game but I just can't seem to get the hang of them. This may be a question of what I'm actually pressing when I'm trying to do a throw, or perhaps a question of timing. (By the way what the heck do I press? Is it forward plus punch at the same time? That just results in a punch for me and not a throw.)

The only time I manage to do throws is randomly, even on the training robot which does not even attack me. When I run up and try to do a throw, I get punched in the face or thrown myself.

The only way I was able to beat Mukade was that I spammed slides to keep him on the ground.

The way most of my fights go is:
1) I run and do a slide to knock him off his feet. (Although blue strikers and the like will just jump over me.)
2) Crouch and do a simple spin kick (just kick while crouching) while he's on the ground.
3) Jump up and do a somersault jump (press shift in the air) to land on him for some damage.
4) Now what? Usually I am standing too close and he floors me with a combo or picks me up and throws me. And against multiple opponents, it is at that point I get kicked in the back by someone else, while the first guy stands up and pulls out the uzi and shoots me while I'm on the ground.